23 Teams from 10 Countries compete in 2008 Phuket International Cricket Sixes

Twenty three teams from ten countries, including local sides from Phuket, today start their battle to win the Cup, Plate, Bowl and Spoon titles at the 2008 Phuket International Cricket Sixes being played next to the beach at Karon Stadium, Phuket, Thailand from 17 – 20 April 2008.

This is the fifth staging of this popular International Cricket Council tournament which helped to kick start the development of cricket in Phuket.

“It’s fantastic to see such a multi-national line-up of of sides, including New Zealand and Bahrain for the first time,” said Tournament Director Mr Brad Tarr.

Teams have flown in from Hong Kong, Malaysia, Australia, Pakistan, Indonesia, India, Bahrain, the UAE and New Zealand to compete along with local Thai teams.

Also confirmed for the Phuket Sixes are the former England pace bowler Alan Mullally who will take to the turf along with the former Australian international and Phuket regular,Trevor Chappell.

Matches start at 9.15am daily from Thursday to Sunday. Finals in all divisions will be played Sunday afternoon.

The “Sixes by the Sea” gets underway with a beach cricket tournament. The tournament also features social functions at The Green Man, Joe Kool’s bar and the Gala Awards Dinner at the Hilton Arcadia Hotel.

On Friday 18th from 6.30pm a Charity fundraising Twenty/20 match featuring all the best players from the tournament will be held under floodlights at the Karon Stadium.

Entry for all spectators is free and food and drinks are available at the ground.

The Phuket International Cricket Sixes 2008 is one of a series of cricket tournaments on the Asian Cricket Sixes Tour which also includes events in the Philippines, Hong Kong, Macau, Australia, Shanghai and Singapore.

Phuket Cricket Sixes 2008 – Teams:

CBB Postels
Delhi Medical Association Club
Wild Men From Borneo 2
Calcutta Old Boys
Lamma Cricket Club
Perth Postels
Australian Defence Force Tigers Cricket Club
Leeming Spartan Cricket Club
Liquid Lounge Lizards
Corner Tigers
Guinness Southerners
Karon Seasanders
The Bounty Buccaneers Drinking Cricket Team & Kudu Bar Cavalry Drinking Cricket Team
Black Swans
Calcutta Cricket & Football Club
Weraroa Cricket Club
Wild Men From Borneo 1
Entertainers Cricket Club
Etihad Airways Cricket Club
Guwahati Town Cricket Club
Uni Wanderers
Bahrain Camels
Toorak-Prahan Cricket Club

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.